Hello Blogging World!

I am currently sitting inside waiting for Hurricane Irene to knock down our power lines. I thought this was a fitting time to begin a blog. I am not new to blogging, I created one back in high school when it was fun to post your feelings across the internet. I also managed the blog for my Invisible Children Club in school. This time I am going to try to do things a little differently.

Just to give you a little background about myself, I currently a Business Development Intern at foursquare in New York City. This past May I graduated from SUNY New Paltz in New Paltz, NY with a BA in Adolescent Education with a concentration in Social Studies. During my last semester of school I was given the opportunity to Student Teach 9th and 10th grade Global Studies and Pine Bush High School and 8th grade Social Studies at Twin Towers Middle School in Middletown, NY. I really enjoyed teaching and I know that is a career choice that is right for me.

Unfortunately, Social Studies Teachers are currently not in high demand in New York, or any state really. So I am trying to figure out what I want to do next in my life. I have several options right now:

a. Get a full-time job, (perhaps at the Macy’s Make-up counter?) try to save some money and apply to teaching jobs over the course of the next year. Perhaps I will apply to Graduate School for Literacy Education during this time. This is my least favorite option.

b. Apply to Teach for American (I already did this) and see if I get in. If i did that would be awesome. I would have a plan, get to be a teacher, and get my Masters all at the same time. It would also be the most insane, labor intensive two years of my life, but I’m ready for that challenge.

c. Work off of my foursquare experience and attempt to get jobs/internships working with Social Media and technology. I think I would step away from the Business Development area (Even though I really enjoy this experience, I don’t really think BD is my strong suit) and I would lean more towards entry-level Social Media Management or Office Assistant positions.

Other than my job search I’m a pretty typical 22 year old gal. I have a great family, a boyfriend, a dog and a couple very close friends from school and home. I like to eat, listen to music, craft, go out to eat and go to the movies.

I plan to use to use this blog to talk about various things that I experience and have interest in. I will talk about my experiences working with foursquare and applying to Teach For America. Hopefully I will talk about delicious food, new technology I love and other useful things.

I plan to post often, so thanks for listening!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s